top of page

University of Galway win 6 BICS Awards

At the 2023 Board of Irish College Societies (BICS) National Society Awards took place in the Clayton Whites Hotel in Wexford on April 6th, The University of Galway came home with 6 awards, winning more awards than any other large college in Ireland. Continuing their winning streak, having won 7 awards in 2021, 6 awards in 2022 and currently holding the most awards since the inception of the national awards in 1996. 


The University of Galway Attendees were delighted to take home the following awards on the evening.


Best Departmental Society for WiSTEM, supporting Women in STEM, over 1000 members with 500 new members this year.

Best Event for Akumakon, Anime & Manga Society. This year was the biggest Akumakon Convention ever with outreach to youth groups, over 2200 attendees, links with the Japanese Embassy and the event raised 15,000 euro for Amach, Galway LGBTQ+ resource centre.

Best Individual Nessa O'Connor

Founding member and Auditor of Granny Soc, Akumakon Panel room coordinator, Dramsoc costume designer, Secretary of Fansci member of the Hub Well Crew.

Best Fresher Sava Beekmann

Committees member of Timelord, Bród and Granny Societies.

Best Mental Health, Med Soc 'Shave a Life'. This event raised over 30,000 euro for the Samaritans.

Best Photo Zoo Soc

Lenny is an 8 year old gecko and here he was at the Zoo Societies table on Socs Day sporting a hat borrowed from the Slug Society (fidget toys) table.

Congratulations to our other entrants who represented the University at BICS

Dramsoc: Best Cultural, Academic & Social Society and best Publicity campaign
Feminist Society: Best Charity Civic Society
Computer Society: Best Intervarsity
Baking Society: Best Green Event

Anime & Manga: Best Poster

Time Lord Society: Best Video

Best Event photo: L-R Adam McPadden, Artemis Hughes Hughes, Sean kelly, Nessa O'Connor, Ailbhe O'Connor, Olivia Ronan, May McGrath, Laura Doyle
Best Departmental Society l-R Abi McAlester and Princess Ecezobor
Best Mental Health Aoibhinn King

Best Fresher Sava Beekman

Best Photo: Alex Keane, Aaron O'Connor, May McGrath and Jodie O'Regan

Best individual Nessa O'Connor

University of Galway Group Photo

Lenny the winning photo.

bottom of page